A Truce with a Season.

I used to hate winter. That’s right, I said it.

When I was a young lad, I used to dread those winter mornings because I would hate having to leave the warmth of my bed. Nothing sucked more than removing my heavy covers only to feel a rush of cold air hit my body. The morning showers were the worst! First I would heat up the water (while shivering of course), then I would remove those comfortable pajamies (that’s what I call them), and then I would somehow make it from wherever I took my clothes off to the warm water without coming down with a serious case of frostbite. If that weren’t bad enough, when the shower was over, I had to somehow dry off fast enough to get those warm clothes on before my lungs froze over. Am I being too dramatic? ugh!

Now that I am older, I think that winter and I have settled our differences. Sure, when I’m not around, he talks a good talk to Fall and Spring, only to shut up and turn red in the face when I approach. But at least he’s not ruining my days like he used to. I guess it’s fair to say I can tolerate winter a lot better these days.

Also, it’s important to note that I am talking only about the weather. I’m not referring to the amazing holidays, the drinking of warm liquids, and cuddling up under a blanket, and warm slippers, and presents, and making snow angels, and….. and….

Oh my, can it be? Wait! No! Is it true? Winter? Are you and I……cool? <extends hand to winter to offer a truce>

<Winter eyes it warily>

<I look at my hand and back at winter; my face proceeds to give an expression that can only be described as, “dude, are you serious? Do you know how hard this is for me? Let’s get this over with before Fall and Spring see us. I told Fall he was my favorite and you know how jealous he gets when he sees me opening up to the rest of you”.>

<Winter looks at may face and seems to pick up on exactly what it means (which is pretty impressive if I do say so myself). Yet he hesitates…>

<I stand my ground.>

<Winter sighs, rolls his eyes, and then shakes my hand…phew!>

It looks like Winter and I have settled our differences. I feel like I have grown up a little today. Thanks for being a part of it. 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Truce with a Season.

  1. waterfriend says:

    Oh, sure i share your sentiments
    kk

Leave a Reply

